´╗┐ New York "Move Over Law" Attorney John covers speeding tickets among these New York Counties
CLICK HERE TO START A LIVE CHAT NOW

New York "Move Over Law" Attorney

After an initial flood of phone calls shortly after this law was enacted I decided to add this Section dealing with NY Vehicle and Traffic Law §1144a which is commonly referred to as the “Move Over Law.”

Basically, this section went into effect on January 1, 2011 and was named after two NY State Troopers who were hit after having made a stop on the side of the road.  The law is designed to protect police and emergency workers on the side of the road and requires that drivers move over at least one lane or slow to a speed of less than 20 miles per hour of the posted speed limit.  Most other states have a similar law.

This charge is considered a moving violation and drivers would be convicted of two points along with a  fine and surcharge of up to $235 for the first conviction with the fines increasing for each subsequent conviction within 18 months.

Call John for a free consultation if you are charged with violating New York’s Move Over Law.